application information
Saison Artist in Residence
this year's awardees
morishita studio
foundation outline
map & directions
Saison Artist in Residence
program outline
application procedures
evaluation, selection, and notification
download guidelines
Saison Artist in Residence

Kiseki Trajectories: Japan Italy France Dance Exchange Program

Partnership with Comune di Bassano del Grappa (Italy), La Briqueterie - Centres de D騅eloppement Chor馮raphique du Val-de-Marne (France)

Residency Period in Japan: from 2 February to 1 March, 2018

Residency Period in Italy and France from 16 August to 17 September 2018

[Program Outline]

This program aims to conduct a dance exchange program in partnership with Comune di Bassano del Grappa and La Briqueterie - Centres de D騅eloppement Chor馮raphique du Val-de-Marne. In February 2018, Teita Iwabuchi, Giorgia Nardin and Sachie Noro stayed at Morishita Studio to work together and they stayed in Bassano del Grappa in August and in La Briqueterie in September 2018.

Participatory artists:

  • Teita Iwabuchi, Choreographer and Dancer
  • Giorgia Nardin, Choreographer and Performer (Italy)
  • Satchie Noro, Choreographer and Circus Artist (France)
Open Program


27 February 2018




Istituto Italiano di Cultura - Tokyo

The open program presented the participatory artists short performances and shared the outline of the program, the participatory artists past works and their research during the residency.


Teita Iwabuchi

Teita Iwabuchi majored in Theater at Tamagawa University and studied nihon-buyo and butoh. He joined a lot of dance works such as Nibroll, Kim Ito and Un Yamada as a dancer. From 2007 to 2015, he appeared on Ko Murobushi痴 butoh performances and deeply influenced by today. He has presented choreographies that focus on 都tructure of the human body and 妬nteraction of space, music, and human body since 2005. He has constantly presented experimental works that depicts the relationship between body and music with musicians such as Yosio Ootani and Shuta Hasunuma since 2010. Hetero, which he choreographed with Kaori Seki, won The French Embassy Prize for Young Choreographer for Yokohama Dance collection EX 2012. He has developed the dance methodology, Network Bodies, inspired by biology and neuroscience. He is a The Saison Foundation痴 Senior Fellow 2017 and a resident artist of Steep Slope Studio.

Giorgia Nardin (Italy)

Giorgia Nardin majored in Performing Arts at the Northern School of Contemporary Dance in the United Kingdom. She creates works in relation to sexual minorities and gender. She started making work in 2010 in collaboration with artists Francesca Foscarini and Marco D'Agostin. Her first solo, Dolly (2012), which focuses on the multiple icons related to stereotypes of femininity, won numerous awards and has presented in several venues and festivals both in Italy and across Europe including Edinburgh Fringe, Interplay Torino, Festival Mess Sarajevo. All dressed up with nowhere to go is on the top 20 list for the Aerowaves Network 2015. Minor Place, her latest work for stage, is a participatory performance based on Silvia Federici痴 Caliban and the Witch Women, the body and primitive accumulation. She is the first Italian artist to be awarded the eight-month residency at K3 - Zentrum fur Choreographie Hamburg (Kampnagel).

Satchie Noro (France)

Satchie started her dance with the practice at the Dojo of her father, Masamichi Noro, a master of Aikido and studied classical ballet with the Wilfride Piollet. After a short stay in Deutsche Oper Berlin, she embraced the prolific Berlin alternative scene as a choreographer and performer from 1991 to 1995. Back in France, she performed with Andy Degroat, Shiro Daimon, Mi Coquempot. In 2002, she discovered aerial circus techniques at the Circus School Les Noctambules with Michel Nowak and simultaneously founded her company Furinka. In 2006 she started collaborating with constructor Silvain Ohl and created Origami which toured in Europe and Chile. She has also collaborated as dancer and circus artist with Adrien Mondot and Claire B, Carlotta Sagna, James Thierr, Michel Shweizer, Mohamed Al Khatib and Pierre Meunier.


 search contact sitemap privacy policy
Copyrights 2000-2005 The Saison Foundation. All rights reserved.